ABOUT US

MISSION & VISION

Our MISSION is to create and support professionally guided one-to-one mentoring relationships that ignite the power and promise of youth.

Our VISION is that all youth achieve their full potential. In partnership with six local colleges, universities, school districts, businesses and the community at large. We create relationships that change lives for the bettter, forever.

Who We Are

IMG_9169

Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Capital Region (BBBSCR)

was nationally established in 1904. Here, in New York's Capital Region, we've been matching mentees ("Littles") with mentors ("Bigs") since 1964 into a supported one-to-one mentoring relationship. A relationship that ignites the full potential of our Littles and gives them an adult role model to support it.

While affiliated with Big Brothers Big Sisters of America, Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Capital Region is a regional operated and funded 501(c)3 organization. We serve the Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, and Schenectady counties in New York State.

In these counties, our Littles face adversity at a higher rate than the average young person in the US. What's more, 99% of our Littles come from low-income homes, single parent families, or have an incarcerated parent. And studies have shown that children of incarcerated parents are likely to be incarcerated themselves.

We know that while talent is equally distributed, Opportunity Isn't...

That's why we work every day to disrupt this kind of tragic cycles of poverty and oppression. We believe our Littles are agents of transformation, so we're committed to freeing them from these systemic traps. And we can foster their long-term happiness and success. By helping them grow their self-esteem, earn better grades, make healthier choices, and develop a lifelong friendship with their Big.

But we need you for that. 100+ years of studies have shown us that the investment of time by a stable and attentive adult role model, can help children escape these cycles. And realize their greatest potential.

ABOUT US

Lea Montalto-Rook

CEO
Administration

518-862-1250
lea@bbbscr.org

Ruth Schulman

Director of Development and Communications
Fundraising and Events

518-862-1250 ext. 104
ruth@bbbscr.org

Lisa O'Sullivan

Program Director
Programming

518-862-1250 ext. 107
lisao@bbbscr.org

Enriquette Duran

Program Manager
Programming

518-862-1250 ext. 102
enriquette@bbbscr.org

Noellie Medina

Assistant Program Manager
Programming

518-862-1250 ext. 108
noellie@bbbscr.org

Lynee Wilson

Reach Out Center Director
Programming

lynee@bbbscr.org

Dom Corker

Program Associate
Direct Services

Dom@bbbscr.org

Cierra Daubitz

Program Associate
Direct Services

Cierra@bbbscr.org

Zoe Capanna

Mentoring Initiatives Program Assistant
Direct Services

zoec@bbbscr.org

Jessica Underhill

Match Support Coordinator/Site Coordinator - Union College
Direct Services

jessicau@bbbscr.org

Kortney conley

Match Support Coordinator/Site Coordinator - RPI
Direct Services

kortney@bbbscr.org

Brianna Sinclar

Match Support Coordinator/Site Coordinator - RPI
Direct Services

brianna@bbbscr.org

BBBSCR relies on paid and trained staff to carefully match dependable volunteers with children. Our long-term one-to-one mentoring relationships provide ongoing support to our Bigs, Littles, and their families. That's what makes us different from other mentoring organizations. We don't just do the matches, we go along these matches through their complete journey.

Want to DEFEND the potential of our Littles and be part of our team?

We're always looking for excellent people to join us! All staff members are asked to have a minimum of a bachelor's degree. Please contact lisao@bbbscr.org if you are interested in submitting a resume for one of our part-time positions. We can't wait to hear from you.